2023: A Fresh Start - Reflecting on the First Two Weeks of the New Year

2023: A Fresh Start - Reflecting on the First Two Weeks of the New Year

A Personal Journey

2023 has just begun, and there are a lot of things happening around, especially in tech. As a developer, it's important to stay on top of these changes and continuously improve. That's why I have decided to take a step back and reflect on my progress and growth during this period.

Answering a few questions you might have before we start.

What am I going to write in this blog post?

I am planning to start writing my weekly progress and actions I have taken to achieve my goal. It will be similar to a personal journal, and I will write what I have learned and accomplished this week and my goals for next week. I am still not sure about the outline so I will keep experimenting with different formats and see what works for me.

Why am I starting this now?

I wanted to participate in DevRetro 2022, as I began to write the outline for the blog I noticed that there weren't many things that I was able to jot down for the first six months of 2022, whereas I have learned new things, made side projects, worked at a startup, participated in hackathons and enjoyed last six months of my college with my friends during that time. So I decided to write a reflection on things I did to achieve my goals and improve my career every one or two weeks based on how the week goes.

Why am I writing this as a blog post?

You might think that reflecting on my progress and writing a personal retrospective should be done in a personal journal, so why am I writing it as a blog post?

I want to make journaling a regular habit. The most effective way to keep me accountable is to write it as a blog and share it with the public instead of writing it in my diary or notion. Also, this would be a good opportunity for me to make new friends and get feedback and advice from others.

Note: Since this is a public post I won't include each and every detail.

Building a better me: My learnings in the first two weeks of 2023.

I started two react side projects one of which was for a Hackathon. Also, I got to know about a technical platform where we can solve quests to learn about issues we might face in production and also solve bugs in the existing codebase. So I solved 4 quests from that platform. I also used GPT3 API to create an AI writer with GPT3 as a part of the build. Apart from these things I also solve few DSA questions on leetcode, but I am not going to write about them here :-)

Creating a table from scratch in React

I created a basic React project which will fetch data from an API and render it in the table, It will also have a feature to edit and delete rows in place and also search to filter the data. It also has a pagination feature to show only 10 items per row.

I have completed the edit, delete and pagination features, this week I will work on the search feature and also write a blog on this mini project.

Brainstorming on ideas for HackNITR 4.0

I participated in HackNITR hackathon, I worked on ProgressPaver, A goal tracking app to Achieve your goals, one step at a time. I worked only on the weekend for this project and I am planning to continue this project next month as I am currently part of Nights and weekends so I am focusing on that product this month.

Nights and Weekends: S2

Nights and Weekends is a 6-week program to help builders and hackers gtfo localhost and grow their products. In the last two weeks, we had a call with Ryan hoover from product hunt where he shared his experience and also gave us a few pieces of advice to grow our product. We also had one more session where we learned what types of headlines are good and bad for a landing page and how it depends on the users we are targeting.

Trying out GPT3 API for a project

In this project what I basically did was added a text area and integrated GPT API so that it will answer the prompt user input. Now I want to learn how we can fine-tune the result we get from the API.

Achievements Unlocked: Reflecting on What I Accomplished in the First 14 Days of 2023

Improving my technical writing

I participated in Crio's program to create micro bytes on different technical topics and I was among the top two performers and won Skullcandy Wireless Over-Ear Headphones as a prize.

Micro bytes are basically learn by doing tutorials. I created Micro byte on different topics including

  1. Managing branches in Git: Where I discussed Trunk and feature-based development.

  2. Promises in Javascript: Here I covered what is a Promise in JavaScript and how to create a promise.

  3. Static code analysis with Sonar Cloud: I demonstrated how static code analysis work along with its use cases.

  4. Pagination in React: Here I guided users to create a Pagination feature using MUI pagination component.

  5. Understanding Feature Toggle: In this micro byte I wrote about what is a feature toggle and the different ways we can create a feature toggle.

  6. Introduction to Long Polling: I used Nodejs and created a basic demonstration of what is long polling and how long polling works.

  7. Writing ADRs: In this micro byte I outlined different contents of Architectural decision records and created a sample ADR.

What I read during this time.

  • I read the journey other devs shared in DevRetro 2022 blog. These blogs were my inspiration to start writing weekly personal retrospective.

Interesting things I watched during this period:

1. GrowthX Demo Day

I joined the GrowthX demo day where different members of top companies shared their stories and strategy for revenue-led growth. It was a good experience to understand how big companies handle different situations.

2. K-drama: Unlock My Boss

Well, this is something related to entertainment but still, it is an interesting k-drama related to AI so I am sharing it here.

Silver lining CEO creates an AI algorithm using Deep learning for Self-driving cars but something happens to him during this process and only two employees can have a conversation with him using his phone as he is trapped there.

The Road Ahead

That's it for this blog. This week I am planning to learn more about GitHub action and I am also participating in FuelerThreadChallenge to write a Twitter thread for 7 days currently I am on day 3 so will write more threads for the next 4 days.

Also, I want to continue the nights and weekends journey for more two weeks and build more projects.

Thank you for reading so far, I am excited to see what all new things I learn this week and I hope the new year has been as enlightening for you as it has been for me.

You can connect with me on LinkedIn or Twitter

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Shweta Kale by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!